Author Topic: Rear brake dragging  (Read 4233 times)

mr_diver

• HAR Member
Rear brake dragging
« on: July 10, 2018, 10:42:52 »
This one has got me stumped.
I'm no mechanical numpty -- I do all my own maintenace and know which end of the spanner to hold.

The bike is a XL1000v9 37k miles.
Still on the original front pads, rear was changed @ 21k miles. I've gone through 2 sets of rear pads since then and will need another set quite soon.

The Rear caliper is holding (dragging) the disk, but when moving. I can get both the other two pistons worked directly from the rear mast cylinder and the middle piston worked from the rear m/c and from the secondary m/c.
I have stripped all calipers, replaced the seals, greased the sliders, reassembled, bled (I know the correct process and pressurised the secondary m/c and bled the rear middle nipple with someone's help) 3 times!!!
I've replaced the Secondary m/c internals and rod.
I have stripped and cleaned the whole system, including the PCV. Everything seems to be functioning as designed.
I've replaced the rear disk as the old one was showing some scoring, but not warped.
I've checked front wheel alignment.
Rear wheel is aligned correctly.
Wheel bearings have been replaced.
I have checked if the bike has any outstanding recalls and it`s all clear.
Front left caliper is not dragging.

Still the rear brake drags and the disk gets quite hot and so does the caliper.
It happens whether or not I use the rear brake lever (not a suprise with linked system)

I'm stumped with this and it's starting to get to me.
I can't risk riding the bike incase it gets worse away from home. If I can't get it fixed the bike has to go, then there is nothing out there I can replace it with other than another Varadero.