Author Topic: The way to Geiranger  (Read 91335 times)

eightyfive

• HAR Member
The way to Geiranger
« on: September 16, 2013, 01:26:37 »
Dear friends
I'm studying the possibility of participating in VIM16, but do not know the northern europe.
So I ask for your help. Did I can give an idea of the best route from Portugal to Norway?
I always go by road? or I have to get some ferry?
And can you give me an idea of prices ferryes, gasoline, tolls. Just to make a budget ...

thank you

Snurrepus

• 2008 Black Beauty
Re: The way to Geiranger
« Reply #1 on: September 16, 2013, 02:51:15 »
Hi, Eightyfive.

Thank you for your interest in VIM16.
I visited Portugal with my Varadero last year.
Do you usually drive motorways, or do you prefer smaller roads?

When you come to northern Germany, you have to decide ferry or road.
I prefer to use a ferry between Germany and Norway, or between Denmark and Norway.
Otherwise you have to cross two quite expensive bridges, one in Denmark and another between Denmark and Sweden.
The cheapest ferries sails between Frederikshavn and Oslo (http://www.stenaline.nl/en/ferry) or between Hirtshals and Larvik (www.colorline.com)
Gasoline is almost the same in all countries, but Denmark is cheaper than Norway and Germany.
In Norway motorbikes don't pay road tolls and there are no road toll in Germany, Denmark or Sweden.

Good luck with your planning.
Erik
See you deep in a German forest ;)

VIM 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23

Two Plugs

• Founding Member
  • Administrator
  • Took the plunge: CRF1000 ADVENTURE SPORT
« Reply #2 on: September 16, 2013, 09:54:19 »
Set GPS satnav 'ON'
Set desination to 'Geiranger, Norway'
Set route preferences to 'AVOID MOTORWAYS' (Garmin)
Or
Set route preferences to 'Choose most curvy route' (TomTom)

Enjoy and be supriced!  ;D
Founder of VIM, that's why I am in!
Join the Varadero International FB group:
https://www.facebook.com/groups/1467408023517180/

JosepM

• AT 1100 DCT '23